Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

Meet the Commissioners

One of the most important provisions of the Historic Preservation Ordinance is the creation of Montgomery County's Historic Preservation Commission (HPC). Appointed by the County Executive for 3-year terms, the nine Commissioners are all volunteers. The HPC considers applications for Historic Area Work Permits, have preliminary consultations with citizens who wish to make alterations to historic properties, evaluate changes to the Montgomery County Master Plan for Historic Preservation and review applications for the Montgomery County Historic Preservation Tax Credit.

In addition to their work at regularly scheduled public meetings, the Commissioners speak to public groups, testify before the Planning Board and County Council, answer questions from individual residents and visit proposed historic sites and historic properties where owners want to make changes. The HPC is supported by professional staff in M-NCPPC's Historic Preservation Section.

William Kirwan, AIA LEED AP
Historic Preservation Commission Chair

William KirwanWilliam Kirwan was appointed to the Historic Preservation Commission in 2009. A Silver Spring resident, he's a registered Architect and Principal of Muse Architects, PC of Bethesda. Since receiving his Masters of Architecture from the University of Maryland in 1987, he has taught at the University of Maryland School of Architecture Preservation and Planning, served as a routine guest critic for design juries at the University of Maryland and Catholic University, and served as a member of the Washington Chapter of The American Institute of Architects Board of Directors as Director of Design Issues. In 2007, he became a LEED accredited professional.

Sandra Heiler
Historic Preservation Commissioner

Sandra HeilerSandra Heiler, a Brookeville resident, joined the Historic Preservation Commission in 2009.  She has worked on the restoration and preservation of historic houses and churches in New England and the Middle Atlantic. She was formerly a historic properties researcher for the Massachusetts Trustees of Reservations and the curator of the Robert Paine House museum, as well as a member of the Sudbury [Massachusetts] Historic Districts Commission.  She has a Master of Science degree in Historic Preservation and Architectural History from Boston University.  She retired as Senior Computer Scientist from Verizon Laboratories.

Paul Treseder
Historic Preservation Commissioner

Paul TresederPaul Treseder, who was appointed to the Historic Preservation Commission in 2010, has practiced as an Architect in Montgomery County for 21 years, opening his first office in Takoma Park in 1986 and relocating to Bethesda in 1996. He is originally from the San Francisco Bay Area, having grown up and gone to school in Los Gatos, California and received his architectural degree from the University of California at Berkeley.

Joseph Coratola
Historic Preservation Commissioner

Joseph Coratola Joseph J. Coratola Jr. AIA, a resident in the City of Gaithersburg was appointed to the Historic Preservation Commission in 2011. He is a registered Architect and is the principal-in-charge and Owner of Coratola Architectural Studio, LLC located in historic Olde Towne Gaithersburg.  He received his Bachelor’s degree in Architecture from the Catholic University of America in 1987, served nine years on the City of Gaithersburg’s Historic Preservation Advisory Committee and coauthored the City of Gaithersburg’s ordinance to establish the newly formed Historic District Commission. His work, which ranges from single-family buildings to large commercial buildings, includes historic preservation and adaptive reuse projects throughout Maryland, District of Columbia and Connecticut.

Marsha Barnes
Historic Preservation Commissioner

Marsha E. Barnes, a Bethesda resident, was appointed to the Commission in 2013.  She has a life long interest in history and historic preservation.  She was a member of the career Foreign Service for more than thirty years, serving in Washington and abroad, including as an Ambassador.  She has a BA in history from Lake Forest College  and is a distinguished graduate of the National War College.  She is a member of the Board of Preservation Maryland, a non-profit organization.

Kenneth Firestone
Historic Preservation Commissioner

Kenneth Firestone joined the Commission in 2013 . He has lived in Montgomery County for 30+ years including 10 years in Silver Spring as a teenager. He currently resides in the Takoma Park historic district. He received a BS in Economics from University of Maryland, an MS in Computer Science from Johns Hopkins.  More recently, he followed his interest in Urban Planning and received a Master’s degree in Community and Regional Planning also from University of Maryland. He worked as a photojournalist for various publications and as a computer technologist for the Department of Labor, Chronicle of Higher Education and the Public Broadcasting Service.

Brian Carroll
Historic Preservation Commissioner

BrianCarroll Brian Carroll was appointed to the Historic Preservation Commission in 2013. He is a registered Architect and LEED accredited professional and the Principal of Brian Carroll Architect LLC in Gaithersburg. Prior to earning Masters Degrees in Architecture and Community Planning from the University of Maryland, he graduated from The North Bennett Street School’s Preservation Carpentry program in Boston Massachusetts. He spent several years working as a preservation/restoration carpenter, on many historic buildings, including Amherst Massachusetts’s Emily Dickenson House and The Riversdale Mansion in Riverdale, MD. Mr. Carroll lives in Gaithersburg with his wife and two children.

Kathleen Legg
Historic Preservation Commissioner


Richard Arkin
Historic Preservation Commissioner





For more information, please call the Historic Preservation Office, 301-563-3400.

Date of last update: February 24, 2014