Final Draft

Montgomery County's Growth Policy

2005-2007 Policy Report

Recommendations for the Administration of Montgomery County's Adequate Public Facilities Ordinance



Prepared by the Montgomery County Planning Board Maryland - National Capital Park and Planning Commission August 1, 2005

Elected & Appointed Officials

County Council

Thomas E. Perez, President
George Leventhal, Vice-President
Phil Andrews
Howard A. Denis
Nancy Floreen
Mike Knapp
Tom Perez
Marilyn J. Praisner
Steven A. Silverman
Michael L. Subin

County Executive

Douglas M. Duncan

The Maryland-National Capital Park & Planning Commission

Derick P. Berlage, Chairman Elizabeth M. Hewlett, Vice Chairman

Montgomery County Planning Board

Derick P. Berlage, Chairman

Allison Bryant Wendy C. Perdue John M. Robinson Meredith K. Wellington Prince George's County Planning Board

Elizabeth M. Hewlett, Chairman

William M. Eley, Jr. James F. Harley John H. Squire Sylvester J. Vaughns

Abstract

Title: Montgomery County's Growth Policy

Final Draft 2005-2007 Policy Report

Author: Montgomery County Planning Board

Maryland - National Capital Park and Planning Commission

Subject: Recommendations for the administration of the adequate public

facilities ordinance for Montgomery County, Maryland for 2005-2007

Source of Copies: The Maryland-National Capital Park & Planning Commission

8787 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, Maryland, 20910

301-495-4700

http://www.mc-mncppc.org/development/agp/agphome.shtm

Date: August 2005

Number of Pages: 115

Abstract: Montgomery County Code Section 33A-15 establishes the process

by which the Montgomery County Council provides guidance for the management of growth. The Code requires the Council to adopt a biennial Growth Policy by November 15 of each odd-numbered year.

This document contains the recommendations of the Montgomery County Planning Board on growth policy issues identified by the County Council, the Planning Board, other public officials and the

general public.

Montgomery County's Growth Policy

2005-2007 Policy Report

Table of Contents

Chapter 1	Time Limits of a Finding of Adequate Public Facilities and APF Tests o Recorded Lots
Chapter 2	Testing the Adequacy of Public Safety Facilities
Chapter 3	Highway Mobility Report51
Chapter 4	White Flint Policy Area
Appendix:	Development Approval Activity in 2004

Staff Contacts

County Council Staff

Glenn Orlin, *Deputy Staff Director* Michael Faden, *Senior Legislative Attorney*

County Executive Staff

Scott Reilly, Assistant Chief Administrative Officer, Office of the County Executive Lisa Rother, Planning Manager, Planning Implementation Section of the Office of the County Executive

Arthur Holmes, *Director, Department of Public Works and Transportation*Edgar Gonsalez, *Deputy Director for Transportation Policy*and *Transportation*Anne Root, *Planning Specialist*

Robert Hubbard, Director, Department of Permitting Services

Thomas W. Carr, Jr., Chief, Department of Fire and Rescue Services Michael R. Love, Deputy Chief, Department of Fire and Rescue Services

J. Thomas Manger, Chief, Department of Police Lieutenant Terrence Pierce, Field Services Bureau, Department of Police

Montgomery County Public Schools Staff

Dr. Jerry D. Weast, Superintendent Joseph Lavorgna, Director of the Department of Planning and Capital Programming Bruce Crispell, Senior Planner

Montgomery County Department of Park & Planning

Charles R. Loehr. Director Rose Krasnow, Chief, Development Review John Carter, Chief, Community-Based Planning Jeffrey Zyontz, Chief, Countywide Planning Tariq El-Baba, Associate General Counsel Karl Moritz, Chief, Research & Technology Center Richard Hawthorne, Chief of Transportation Planning Shahriar Etemadi, Transportation Planning Supervisor Eric Graye, Transportation Planning Supervisor Dan Hardy, Transportation Planning Supervisor Matthew Greene, Senior Research Planner Ed Axler. Senior Transportation Planner Rich Roisman, Transportation Planner Ronald Vaugh, *Transportation Planner* Mary Goodman, Information Specialist Charles Coleman, Administrative Services

For more information about the Annual Growth Policy, please contact Karl Moritz at 301-495-1312 or karl.moritz@mncppc-mc.org



Montgomery County Planning Board The Maryland-National Capital Park & Planning Commission 8787 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3760 August 2005